Calendar Availability Set Up

Setting up your calendar availability is a vital process.

It allows you to define your usual schedule of availability in an overlay on your calendar for staff to see

If you offer your clients the ability to schedule online from the patient portal, and limits them to self-schedule only when you're available!

In this Article:

Follow these handy steps below to set up your availability: 


Setting up Your Usual Availability to Provide Therapy Sessions

  1. Click My Schedule from the left-hand menu.
  2. Select Edit Availability on the top right of your calendar page. 

On the ‘Add Availability' page, if not already set up, you will want to set up a schedule that's 'close' to what you typically provide - by checking and unchecking the days of the week in order to set up something that's close, but not perfect. (We'll perfect your schedule as a next step).

NoteAre you a Manager - or - Owner?
If so, you can go to an individual provider's schedule to edit availability the same way, or via:

  • Practice Settings
  • Staff (top tabs)
  • Click on the Provider's name you wish to edit
  • Under the section " Calendar Settings" click the blue Edit Availability button on the far right.

From here, you can adjust:

  • Timeslots (hour, 30 mins, 15 mins)
  • Days of the week (check / uncheck)
  • Office Location
  • Client self-scheduling options (enable or disable, and if you use integrated telehealth the option for scheduling teletherapy)
  • Start and end times (with a built-in hour for lunch)


Want to just "draw" your schedule instead?

To bypass the above screen, just click the No Thanks, Start with a Blank Slate button above, which will bring you to a blank schedule you can just draw your availability in.


Viewing and Editing your Availability

Now, You'll see your availability as blocks of time. Click the bottom of the block and grab it to stretch it or shrink it. Click on top to move the entire block, delete it or change the location you're at that day. 

Here's an example of manually drawing an availability slot, dragging, and resizing:


Change a Section of Availability

To do this, first click on an existing "section" and then look at the far right (below the menu buttons).

From there, you can change the following: 

  • Office location
  • Slot durations
  • Client self-scheduling options
  • As well as deleting this availability section


Adding an Exception

You can add an 'exception' to your usual schedule if you wish to. For example, maybe a certain week or part of the year you have a different schedule - such as the summer or a semester. Click the Add Exception button on the far right menu, then select the start and end dates for the different schedule. then proceed like you did to set up your usual availability. 

Have a single day or week exception?

If you have a need for a "one-off" day (like adding a few hours to the end of your schedule) or a slightly different week schedule (perhaps for a holiday) you can do that!

For single-day exceptions, ensure the start and end date are the same day, then when prompted you can click No thanks, start with a clean slate and just edit that particular day of the week for the exception. If the day of the week is a Friday, only draw your availability for that Friday. You will need to create your availability in its entirety for that date, not just the "extra hours" you want to add.


Switching between Exceptions and Availability Date Ranges

Once you add an exception, you'll notice a dropdown menu bar that you can use at the top to switch between the availability dates and the various exceptions. Click on that to switch between the various date ranges and make your adjustments as needed.

Don't forget to click I'm Done when you are finished making changes!


Viewing your Availability on your Schedule

Now, when you go back to your Calendar View, you will see your availability highlighted by this translucent color, guiding your eye to easily know your usual availability. Scheduling an appointment within that availability slot will default to that office location (but you may always override this with the more info / details button when scheduling)

You and your staff can still schedule a patient outside of this availability if you have a need to do so. That location will default to your primary office within your My Profile settings.